

ABOUT SMALL CLAIMS COURT



The aim of establishing the Small Claims Court is to provide easy access to an informal, inexpensive and speedy resolution of debt recovery dispute by business persons and other residents in the State.

The Akwa Ibom State Judiciary has inaugurated a four-member management committee to run the Small Claims Court for debts not exceeding ₦5,000,000.00 (Five Million Naira) only.

The members of the Judiciary Small Claims Court Management Committee are:

1. Hon. Justice Edem Akpan	-	Chairman
2. Hon. Justice Iboro Ukpanah	-	Member
3. Margaret Kingsley William, Esq.	-	Secretary
(DCR, Litigation)		
4. Chief Magistrate Chinonyelum D. Akpanika	-	Member

The Committee's recommendation and insight will serve as a compass guiding the court towards continuous improvement.

To commence the operation of the Small Claims Court, two courts namely Chief Magistrate Court 2, Uyo and Chief Magistrate Court 3, Uyo presided over by Chief Magistrate Maureen-Idongesit M. Udoka and Senior Magistrate Inifiok I. Isong respectively have been designated the pilot courts.

However, upon the commencement of the Small Claims Court and the response by the public, it became pertinent to assign more courts to handle Small Claims. One Magistrate from each Magisterial District was assigned to handle all matters relating to the Small Claims.

Litigants from across the states can access these Small Claims Court for hearing and determination of their cases.



ABOUT SMALL CLAIMS COURT



The Small Claims Court are time bound as the proceedings from commencement till judgment is not expected to last more than 60 working days.

SGD Hon. Justice Ekaete F. Fabian Chief Judge