

## **ABOUT SMALL CLAIMS COURT**



The aim of establishing the Small Claims Court is to provide easy access to an informal, inexpensive and speedy resolution of debt recovery dispute by business persons and other residents in the State.

The members of the Judiciary Small Claims Court Management Committee are:

1. Hon. Justice Edem Akpan - Chairman

2. Hon. Justice Iboro Ukpanah - Member

Margaret Kingsley William, Esq. - Secretary
(DCR, Litigation)

4. Chief Magistrate Chinonyelum D. Akpanika - Member

The Committee's recommendation and insight will serve as a compass guiding the court towards continuous improvement.

To commence the operation of the Small Claims Court, two courts namely Chief Magistrate Court 2, Uyo and Chief Magistrate Court 3, Uyo presided over by Chief Magistrate Maureen-Idongesit M. Udoka and Senior Magistrate Inifiok I. Isong respectively have been designated the pilot courts.

Litigants from across the states can access these Small Claims Court for hearing and determination of their cases.

The Small Claims Court are time bound as the proceedings from commencement till judgment is not expected to last more than 60 working days.